Why is the World Cup called the Jules Rimet trophy?

Why is the World Cup called the Jules Rimet trophy?

England’s World Cup dreams are over, but there are still four teams left scrapping to lift football’s biggest trophy.

And many people must be wondering why the World Cup is sometimes still known as the Jules Rimet trophy ahead of the final this weekend.

Iconic World Cup players: England captain and 1966 hero Bobby Moore

Bobby Moore kisses the Jules Rimet trophy in 1966

In fact, the Jules Rimet Trophy was the original prize for winning the World Cup and it was the award Bobby Moore lifted in 1966.

Initially, it was known as ‘Victory’, but was renamed in 1946 to honour former FIFA President Jules Rimet.

The Frenchman was the third-ever president of FIFA.

Rimet helped to found the organisation in 1904 and was instrumental in passing a vote to initiate international tournaments following the conclusion of World War One.

He had the top job at the French Football Association, before taking over as FIFA chief in 1921.

Rimet spent 33 years in the position, making him the longest-serving president in the organisation’s history.

World Cup winners now receive a replica of the FIFA World Cup Trophy


World Cup winners now receive a replica of the FIFA World Cup Trophy


Cristiano Ronaldo training at Real Madrid after Man United exit


Mbappe and Messi show their class, but France man handed 2/10 rating in semi-final win


Ben White breaks silence for the first time since leaving England's World Cup camp


Mbappe comforts France fan after hitting them with wayward shot in warm-up


Wife of Grant Wahl explains cause of death after his collapse at World Cup


Henderson rejoins Liverpool squad and shares hug with Klopp ahead of restart

He finally passed the baton in 1954 and was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize two years later.

The cup was kept by the Brazilians after they won it for a third time in 1970, but was stolen shortly after and never recovered.

The current iteration of the World Cup trophy has been in affect since 1974 but unlike it’s predecessor it cannot be won outright.

The original remains in FIFA’s possession in their Zurich headquarters and whoever wins in Qatar, will get to permanently keep a gold-plated bronze replica.

World Cup Fan Zone

The 2022 World Cup has been thrilling so far and it's not too late to catch the action LIVE at the talkSPORT Fan Zone.

It’s semi-final time with Argentina vs Croatia and France vs Morocco the last four ties in Qatar.

Both games will be shown live on big screens at the Fan Zone – the best World Cup party in London.

Alongside all the action, you can enjoy food, music and drinks with some of our favourite faces from talkSPORT.

Bag your ticket for the talkSPORT Fan Zone HERE.

Originally Posted By Talk Sport
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url